5 Chromebook Tips for Teachers

Chromebooks seem to be the hot new device that everyone is talking about, so if you are lucky enough to be starting the school year with some of Google’s laptops, check out the quick presentation below that has 5 Chromebooks tips especially for teachers. The tips include…

  1. Saving to Google Drive instead of the Files app
  2. A new full screen mode for the latest version of Chrome OS
  3. The Screen Magnifier that lets you zoom in on specific parts of your screen
  4. Enabling Caps Lock on a Chromebook
  5. Help with Offline Apps that make your Chromebook more versatile

You may also want to check out a previous post I did that was a Chromebook 101 for Teachers, and if you liked this, be sure to click through to see the followup to this post that has 5 MORE Chromebook Tips for Teachers.

12 Replies to “5 Chromebook Tips for Teachers”

  1. Hello:

    Thanks very much for this information. Our school has just received 60+ ChromeBooks, so this is an important issue for us. I do have question regarding school users. In our environment, it is not always possible to guarantee that Student X will be able to use ChromeBook Y every day and in every class. In that case, since syncing causes files to be copied locally, couldn’t one ChromeBook potentially have synced files for multiple student users? Are the files partitioned on the local storage to prevent one student from accessing another student’s files?

    I just want to clearly understand how offline capabilities work when multiple users access the same device at different times.

    Like

    1. Hmmm, wish I could give you a definitive answer here, but I think it may depend on the app. With Google Apps for instance, I can’t see how a student could access data from another student unless they did not log out of the Chromebook. If you save things locally to the Chromebook, e.g. files you download from offline, it is in the Files app, unless you set the device to save to Drive instead.

      In the Chrome Management Dashboard there is an option to erase local data at log out, or to keep it on the device. This is a choice for the admin. With offline use, there will be some offline data cached, but I am not sure where, so maybe the best practice would be to ensure that students connect online before signing out in order to sync the data with their account.

      Maybe throw this question out to the Chromebook EDU Google+ community. I am sure that someone on there could give a more definitive answer on this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s